Writing to White Noise

A little over a week ago a few members of our illustrious group of Storyslingers met up at the local public house with the intention of hammering out some words on our respective stories in a relaxed atmosphere, surrounded by like-minded and creatively inspiring support.

I’ve never been one to write on command, it’s always had to be when the mood and inspiration have taken hold of me, but I didn’t go there with a lack of ideas. I had things I knew I could write, that I had to write, and yet nothing was happening. It was frustrating to be sat there, nursing my orange juice and lemonade and staring at the open Word document on my laptop all the while my fellow ‘slingers tapping away at their keyboards and talking of a 1000 words noted.

So what was happening that was preventing me from writing? I believe it was the pub itself, and the distraction it was providing. For me, it was the wrong type of background noise.

When I write, as infrequent as that may sometimes be, and I am producing a serious volume of output there is always some background noise. Some people make playlists of particularly inspiring pieces of music, or songs that are acting as a soundtrack to the stories they are writing.

I remember reading an interview with the late and great Iain M. Banks where he said he had once written with a James Bond movie on in the background because he was so familiar with it he didn’t have to pay it such attention. It became like a white noise that filled the air as he wrote but didn’t distract him.  While I would never dream of comparing myself to him, I feel very much the same way – only for me it’s not James Bond movies (as much as I am accustomed to them as well) but television. Most comedies, American sitcoms, either on DVD where there are up to 8 episodes on a disc or whatever is on Comedy Central during the day. Heavily edited episodes of Two and a Half Men usually.

For me it’s not about getting inspiration from these shows as I write, but about the ease and familiarity they provide that allow me to write without the feeling of frustration that I had felt at the pub.

So what is your white noise when you are writing, or do you like to be distracted and tested when you do?

2 thoughts on “Writing to White Noise”

  1. Interesting thoughts Stephen. I’ve never tried writing in a pub but I don’t much care for pubs generally so I imagine I’d have the same problem as you. I can write in coffee shops, having stuff to block out seems to use the same part of my brain that would otherwise be chipping away at my confidence in whatever I was writing at the time. But it’s an expensive way to write.

    Music or tv is out of the question, I just tune into whatever’s on and my productivity goes to hell. Instrumental music I can do, or music where the vocals are so buried in the noise as to be unintelligible!

    I’m using white noise every day at the moment to get the baby to sleep, I might try writing to actual white noise, see how that goes. Holly says some of the music I listen to is less pleasant to listen to than white noise anyway.

Leave a Reply

